Port of South Louisiana elects new commission chair

Posted on 13 May 2022 12:43 by

The Maritime Executive

[By: Port of South Louisiana]

At the April 2022 regular commission meeting, the South Louisiana Port Board of Commissioners elected Mr. Ryan Burks as Chairman for 2022-23. Burks, who was appointed to the Board of Commissioners in 2020 by Louisiana Governor Edwards to represent St. Charles Parish, succeeds MD Paul Robichaux, who has served as Commission Chairman since 2014. from Robichaux, the port of South Louisiana welcomed new industrial partners including Yuhuang Chemical and Formosa; has seen expansions to, but not limited to, Monsanto, Noranda Alumina, Globalplex and the Port’s Executive Regional Airport; started the construction of the commercial development center of the port; acquired the MV Nathan Folse, a state-of-the-art security vessel; and participated in memorandums of understanding with Cuba and the Panama Canal Authority.

A graduate of Tulane University, Burks launched his career as a design engineer in Atlanta, Georgia, where he worked on projects for the 1996 Olympics. Subsequently, he expanded his reach to Florida, in Alabama and Louisiana. In 2002, he founded his company, RYCARS Construction, LLC, a specialty contracting company with core competency in commercial roofing applications. Burks’ efforts have been involved in projects in 10 states and have completed such high-profile projects as Caesars Superdome in New Orleans and NASA’s Johnson Space Center in Houston.

Elections were also held to fill the remaining positions on the port board. Robbie LeBlanc, representing St. James Parish, will act as treasurer, and D. Paul Robichaux and P. Joey Murray, III as vice-presidents. The other commissioners will remain in their positions: Judy B. Songy of St. John the Baptist Parish as vice-president, Stanley Bazile of St. James Parish as secretary, Whitney Hickerson of St. James Parish as as Vice President, and Louis Joseph and Katie Klibert of St. John the Baptist Parish as Vice President.

All positions are elected for a one-year term.

The products and services described in this press release are not endorsed by The Maritime Executive.

Aurora J. William