Lemon Grove to sue Community Advisory Board

Lemon Grove is relaunching its dormant Community Advisory Board.

The three-member group, which also allows for additional temporary members, was established in 2016 to play an advisory and focus group role for city council, but has been inactive since it met three times between 2017 and 2018.

City council unanimously agreed on Tuesday that the group should be relaunched to help the city review the budget and consider its financial situation in the coming months.

Applications are available online and in person at City Hall. The deadline for submitting applications is December 9. A special meeting to conduct interviews will take place on December 20 and appointments will be made on December 21.

“I’m happy to see this come back,” said George Gastil, city council member. “Councilor (Jerry) Jones and I implemented this idea in 2015, and I’m really happy to see it come to life.”

The plan is for the commission to function as the city’s budget review committee and work with city staff to review and discuss the state of Lemon Grove’s general fund, its capital improvement budget. and government funds. The CAC will make recommendations to the Director of Finance and City Council.

Council also agreed that while the number of permanent members should remain three, the composition of temporary members could change depending on the need for more comments on an issue as determined by city council.

In addition to reviewing the budget, the city council said the group will also help the city look at other issues over time, such as public safety and homeless people.

The Community Advisory Commission has somewhat replaced the city’s Planning Commission, which was abolished in 2015 but has since been reinstated. Unlike the Planning Commission – reestablished in 2018 – community counselors do not receive an allowance.

The CAC previously consisted of three permanent residents of Lemon Grove appointed by city council in 2017 with terms reaffirmed in 2018. It also included four temporary members.

City council member Jennifer Mendoza has asked that the original members – Yajaira Preciado, Angeles Nelson and Tom Clabby as well as alternate Walt Oliwa – be contacted to see if they are interested in reinstating.

The permanent members of the commission will be appointed by the city council for terms of three years. The temporary members will be appointed for a limited period by a resolution of the municipal council which notes the individual questions that the commission will study.

Aurora J. William